Leaders’ debate: Theresa May and Jeremy Corbyn absent from five-way clash


TV debate studio.

The leaders of five political parties are taking part in a live general election TV debate.

But Conservative leader Theresa May and Labour’s Jeremy Corbyn have chosen not to take part in the ITV clash.

Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron, UKIP’s Paul Nuttall, SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon, Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood and Green Party of England and Wales co-leader Caroline Lucas will take part.

The debate is taking place in Salford.

  • Live: General election leaders’ debate

It is the first of several election specials scheduled to take place ahead of the 8 June general election.

Mrs May has said she will not take part in any live debates, and Mr Corbyn has said he will only take part if she does.

The BBC will hold a Question Time special on 2 June in which Mrs May and Mr Corbyn will face audience questions consecutively.

SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon and Lib Dem Tim Farron will appear in another on 4 June and there will be a live debate featuring senior figures from seven parties on BBC One on 31 May.