Labour’s Janet Daby wins Lewisham East in by-election


Janet Daby.
Labour Party


Janet Daby is the new MP for Lewisham East

Labour’s Janet Daby has won the Lewisham East by-election, which was triggered by the resignation of Labour MP Heidi Alexander.

The ex-deputy mayor of Lewisham won with 50.2% of the vote, and said she felt “humbled and delighted”.

Ms Alexander announced in May she was quitting Parliament to work for Mayor of London Sadiq Khan.

Ms Daby was picked as a candidate from a shortlist of black and ethnic minority women.

She received 11,033 votes, the Lib Dem candidate Lucy Salek 5,404 (24.6%), and the Conservative candidate Ross Archer 3,161 (14.4%).

  • Labour chooses by-election candidate

In her acceptance speech Ms Daby said her victory meant “we will not tolerate an extreme Brexit in Lewisham East”.

“We refuse to stand by and let a Tory government devastate our schools, our health service and our housing,” she added.

Ms Daby has been a councillor for Lewisham since 2010 and is the director of the Whitefoot and Downham Community Food + Project which she founded in 2013.

A total of 21,979 people turned out to vote in the by-election – 33.2% of the electorate.

There was a 19% swing from Labour to the Lib Dems, who saw a 20% increase in their vote share from the last election.

UK Parliament


Former Lewisham East Labour MP Heidi Alexander is now Sadiq Khan’s new deputy mayor for transport

Labour won the south-east London seat at the 2017 general election with 32,072 votes – a majority of more than 20,000.

Their new majority is 5,629.

The full results in Lewisham East were:

  • Janet Daby – Labour 11,033 (50.2%)
  • Lucy Salek – Liberal Democrats 5,404 (24.6%)
  • Ross Archer – Conservative 3,161 (14.4%)
  • Rosamund Adoo-Kissi-Debrah – Green Party 788 (3.6%)
  • Mandu Reid – Women’s Equality Party 506 (2.3%)
  • David Kurten – UKIP 380 (1.7%)
  • Anne Marie Waters – For Britain Movement 266 (1.2%)
  • Maureen Martin – Christian Peoples Alliance 168
  • Howling Laud Hope – Monster Raving Loony Party 93
  • Massimo DiMambro – Democrats and Veterans Party 67
  • Sean Finch – Libertarian Party 38
  • Charles Carey – no description 37
  • Patrick Gray – Radical Party 20
  • Thomas Hall – Young People’s Party 18